Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

Javier Howell
December 9, 2018

Oklahoma and Ohio State both have 2018 Heisman Trophy finalists in quarterbacks Kyler Murray and Dwayne Haskins, respectively. It will be given out Saturday night in New York City. Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named the AP player of the year Wednesday, and was chosen as the Davey O'Brien Award victor as the nation's top quarterback today.

Earlier in the day, the Walter Camp Award for best player went to Tagovailoa, while Murray won the Associated Press' Player of the Year.

Murray lost out on the Maxwell award to Tagovailoa.

Senior wide receiver Tim Brown was the last Notre Dame player to win in 1987. He's also rushed for 892 yards and 11 scores. The last Maxwell/Davey O'Brien split among quarterbacks came in 2016 when Lamar Jackson won the Maxwell Award and Deshaun Watson won the Davey O'Brien Award. Murray now holds the Football Bowl Subdivision (Division 1) record for best passer efficiency rating in a season.

Wilder retains WBC title after contentious draw with Fury
Here, Press Association Sport revisits four of the fights that have helped the class rediscover its glamour. On the way down the American caught the challenger with a left and Fury seemed to be knocked down and out.

Murray was the most exciting player in college football this season and his success has many thinking he could reverse course and choose the NFL over the Major League Baseball.

The last five Walter Camp winners won the Heisman Trophy and the last four Maxwell winners have won the Heisman. Griffin was a running back at Ohio State from 1972 to 1975, finishing fifth in Heisman voting after his sophomore season before winning the trophy in both his junior and senior years. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year.

Murray leads the country in total offense (4,945 yards), points responsible for (306) and passing efficiency (205.7).

Murray will look to become OU's seventh Heisman victor and second straight (Mayfield).