US Open: Should Phil Mickelson have been disqualified for penalty?

US Open: Should Phil Mickelson have been disqualified for penalty?

Javier Howell
June 17, 2018

SOUTHAMPTON, N.Y. -Phil Mickelson, who's known for playing by the rules, stepped out of character on his birthday at the U.S. Open.

The U.S. Open remains the only major that Phil hasn't captured in his career, after Masters wins in 2004, 2006, and 2010, a PGA Championship in 2005, and a British Open in 2013.

His second shot didn't even go in.

He was assessed a two-stroke penalty and ended up scoring a 10 on the par 4. "He just laughed at me, he had no words to say". "I think he just snapped at how bad his speed was on that putt".

Mickelson was faced with a 12-foot bogey putt and after sending it well past the hole, Lefty ran to his ball to hit it again before it went down the slope.

Gears 5 Announced at Microsoft’s Press Conference
There's even a teaser trailer for Gears Pop! Gears of War 5 is coming to Xbox One and PC. Are you excited about the upcoming Gears of War sequel and spinoff?

Mickelson's initial shot landed on the fairway, but his next two shots missed the green. Mickelson was penalized two shots and posted a 10, but the trouble it caused - some people called for Mickelson to be disqualified - far exceeded the score.

"I said, "That is one of the strangest things I have ever seen" and started laughing, and said "sorry" about laughing", said Johnston, a jovial Englishman with the nickname Beef.

It was a shocking display on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills on Saturday.

To put it simply: It's been a rough 48th birthday for Mickelson.

"I've wanted to do it many times before and finally did". "He made a stroke at a moving ball, which is explicitly covered under 14-5". In that situation, I was just going back and forth. I looked at him and I was like, 'Is this actually happening?!' But honestly, I looked at him and I said to him, 'Sorry, but I can't help but laugh at that.